The Flat White Economy: How the Digital Economy is Transforming London and Other Cities of the Future

Author(s): Douglas McWilliams

HISTORY

Since the financial collapse of 2000, the 'flat white economy'-named after the coffee popular with young workers of media, internet and creative businesses-has spawned four times more jobs than the City lost in the crisis. London is now growing one and a half times faster than Hong Kong as a result, with immigration a driving force behind this triumph of lifestyle and economics. Leading economist Douglas McWilliams describes how this meteoric success, centred on East London where a growing 'hipster' community has swapped the City's champagne and supercars lifestyle for bicycles, boho flats and beards, has become the prototype for digital cities around the world. The Flat White Economy is the key book you need to read on London's economy today, written by an expert in his field. Easily accessible and well written, it will appeal to fans of Stephen J. Dubner's and Steven Levitt's Freakonomics and Chris Anderson's The Long Tail.

$24.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
-1


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

'One of the most-important books to be published on the British economy in decades.' The Evening Standard 'A pleasantly optimistic book ... It is comforting to buy into McWilliams's vision of a vibrant technological engine in Old Street powering Britain back to prosperity.' The Times 'An enlightening read.' GQ magazine

Douglas McWilliams is executive chairman of Cebr, one of the UK's leading specialist economics consultancies, now one of the most highly respected sources of business advice and research. In 2012 he was chosen from over 300 applicants to become the Gresham Professor of Commerce.

General Fields

  • : 9780715650653
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : duckworth
  • : 0.214096
  • : March 2016
  • : 1.7 Centimeters X 12.7 Centimeters X 19.3 Centimeters
  • : United Kingdom
  • : April 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Douglas McWilliams
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 330.91732
  • : 208